Your Deleted Facebook Photos May Still Exist…

Monday, February 6th, 2012


Facebook says it’s working to fix flaws allowing deleted photos to hibernate on various data servers.

“We have been working with our content delivery network (CDN) partner to significantly reduce the amount of time that backup copies persist,” the company told Ars Technica, who first reported that users were having trouble deleting photos permanently in 2009.

Facebook acknowledges in its Statement of Rights and Responsibilities: “when you delete IP content, it is deleted in a manner similar to emptying the recycle bin on a computer. However, you understand that removed content may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time (but will not be available to others).”

Comments are closed.

Leave a Comment